Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy

I fell in love with Everything Beautiful Began After after having just read the Prologue and the rest of the book did not disappoint. Simon Van Booy’s beautiful poetic language is stunning and his descriptions require the reader to pause and take a deep breath to take them in. The characters are so well developed that one cannot help but love and care deeply for them. It is fascinating to watch as they argue over the existence of fate while we quietly witness fate take its toll on each of them. There is a sense of unpredictability, an unknowing that keeps the pages turning. Van Booy’s use of different points of view also adds depth to this novel. It was a genius way to create various space and distance between the reader and the characters. The cover and deckle-edged paper provides the perfect package for such a beautiful and tragic love story.

The ending felt a bit rushed to me and things seemed to be tied up a little too perfectly in the end. This may be that I just didn’t want the book to end. I was invested in these characters and wanted to spend more time with them. However, at over 400 pages, I understand Van Booy had to end the book at some point. Maybe he will write a sequel! If you want to be swept away into a beautiful love story with writing that literally takes you there as a silent witness to the unfolding lives of the characters, this book is definitely for you. I wanted to continue inside the world Van Booy created with this novel so much that I actually got up in the middle of the night, unable to sleep because I couldn’t stop thinking about it, and continued reading until it was finished.

Other posts on Simon Van Booy:

Simon Van Booy

Why Our Decisions Don’t Matter

One thought on “Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy

  1. I really didn’t like this book. I didn’t think the love affair was profound enough to merit his years of grief that came after. I really liked your review because it reminded me of the good points that I did love (poetic language and writing style and the inclusion of letters). I just finished this book like five minutes ago and wanted to read some other bloggers views of the book.

    I would like a squeal though, so that says something right?

Leave a Reply

