I Let You In

I let you in prepared
for you I pried open rusted
door pushed up clouded
window let fresh light inside
my dark cellar

you the tornado here gone
in the blink of my eyes
blinded by the aftermath I sit
where your winds carried my head
in tattered hands contemplating

the fall of tears releasing
raging screams or to lie
quietly and waste away
amongst the ruins you left
behind.

*Day One April PAD Challenge. Prompt: Write a poem about what “got you here.”

One thought on “I Let You In

Leave a Reply

