The Love List

I have experienced a lot of loss lately and it’s been difficult coming to terms with it all. I equate my current situation with that of an out of control merry-go-round. I am in the center, gripping for dear life, while it spins and spins and spins. All I can see are blurs of different paths I could take, but I’m so fearful of choosing the wrong one I’m paralyzed. This is way too much movement for going nowhere!

As is often the case when I feel like everything in my life is out of control, I picked up a book. Today it was The Power by Rhonda Byrne. I’ve only read to page 21, but I’m already inspired. Byrne talks about love being the key to transforming our lives and the obvious: positive thinking = positive outcome and negative thinking = negative outcome. I have to admit I’m not the most positive thinking person out there. In fact, I am downright pessimistic most of the time. I’ve had a difficult time changing my negative thinking. However, the idea of focusing on what I love rather than what I don’t love seems feasible. Gratitude lists haven’t worked well for me. I find it hard to come up with things I’m grateful for when so much has been lost. So, I came up with the idea of writing a love list instead. I bought a tiny, leather-bound gratitude journal and twice a day I’m going to write the things that I love. For example, my first entry is: I love that the little gratitude journal I bought today was marked down from $7.95 to $1.79 and was just what I needed right when I needed it. I’ve also started practicing saying what I love out loud throughout the day instead of constantly focusing on what is going wrong. My son has even noticed the change. What about you? What do you think about writing a daily love list? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

7 thoughts on “The Love List

  1. I can certainly empathise with you and where you are at right now. Can I say that it does get better? I wouldn’t have said that 12 months ago, but that was then, this is now.

    The love list is a great idea and not dissimilar to something I have been doing recently.

    Every day now, I set myself goals, things that most people take for granted in their everyday life can be mountains for me to climb. But on setting those goals, I have a reason to live. Its helping, thats for sure and I am also certain your love list will help you in whchever way you would want it to.

    I see you write poetry, so off to read some.

  2. That’s a terrific idea, Sarah, and you might even use a site like 750words.com that would give you an extra incentive to keep up the journaling. Although the paper journal that you bought sounds awfully sweet 🙂 Best wishes for the transformation!

  3. Sarah,
    I love your idea of writing a love list, but I like the verbal ‘I Love’ even better. It forces your frame of mind to change as you say it, because you begin to think about something positive. What we say out loud has power, thus, it is effective!

    I trust if you stay on this Love Path, you will find yourself feeling the love!

    Be refreshed,
    Dawn Herring

  4. Have stumbled upon you via a circuitous route!
    Have not read The Love List, but have read another of her books, The Secret, plus some others very similar. Have you looked at the Simple Abundance website? You might find that interesting.
    Firmly believe in simple abundance and the power of positive thought.
    I wish you lots of love and luck in your endeavours. You seem very strong. I am sure you will find your way through the compost.

Leave a Reply

