Starting a Journal Revolution

I wrote a proposal for funding and other support to start a writing group last month, but my proposal was rejected for reasons that are complicated but completely understandable. However, that doesn’t make it any less disappointing. I had taken a lot of time to put my ideas on paper and to select the items that I wanted to purchase for each participant so that I could create a budget. It felt so good to complete the proposal and I was excited by the possibilities. It was a major letdown to not be able to move forward with my plans.

A few weeks later I was talking to a friend of mine who had read some of my memoir pieces and she mentioned that she had always wanted to write down her life experiences but didn’t really know where to start or how to do it. Her son was leaving for college and I wanted to get her a gift that would help fill the gap that her son moving away would leave. Then something clicked in my mind. A journal! Now that would be the perfect gift. She would have the time to write and I could provide her with the tools necessary to do so. I ordered The Spirit of Flight journal and a Pentel Arts Slicci metallic pen with violet ink. She loved it!

After she received her new journal I noticed something extraordinary. I would be having a conversation with someone and a little voice would say, “She needs a journal!” And so I began sending these journals as special gifts to women who are important in my life. As I sit here, I imagine us all filling blank journal pages with our life experiences, hopes, dreams, fears, and adventures and our collective empowerment being sent out into the universe. At the beginning of Leslea Newman’s book Write from the Heart: Inspiration and Exercises for Women Who Want to Write there is a quote by Muriel Rukeyser: “What would happen if one woman told the truth about her life? The world would split open.” I want to help make that happen! I want to begin a journal revolution. Won’t you help me? Listen to those you talk with. Listen to the small voice when it tells you: “This woman needs a journal, a gift, a safe place to split her world wide open.”

If you decide to join the revolution and send a journal to a woman you know (or one you don’t) come back here and leave a comment. I would love to hear about it!

11 thoughts on “Starting a Journal Revolution

  1. Funny, I gave my mom a Moleskine Journal, some gel pens and Sark’s “Juicy Pens, Thirsty Paper” for Mother’s Day. Even though she’s 70, she always wanted to write. I told her it’s never too late to start.

    Great idea and great minds think alike!

    Gina

    1. Gina, that is so wonderful! It is definitely never to late to start writing. I love “Juice Pens, Thirsty Paper.” I read it a while ago, and now that you have reminded me of it, I want to get it back off the shelf and reread it. I love SARK and all her colorful inspirational books! We definitely think alike 🙂

    2. oh i want to try this! i’m looking out for a planner/journal for next year and this sounds liek a good idea, especially for those days when i dont really have much to write. 🙂

      1. Wonderful! Thanks for stopping by. Journaling has really helped clear my mind and has made my writing much better because of it 🙂

  2. I will most whole heartedly join in the spirit and intention of starting a journal revolution. I bow to honor your wisdom in splitting the world open. I am taking up the cause.

    I’ll be back….

  3. Okay…so why don’t you get the website set up and go netwide with your revolution? Oh yeah…because you’re in school and up to your ears with it! Ah. Too bad. I can see this easily being a great business for you, Sarah, with the kind of excitement and spirit behind it to keep you going and put some cash in your dwindling bank account. They want to pass around journals? Why shouldn’t they purchase them from The Night Writer? Along with a lot of encouragement and directions, etc. What you were going to do in person you can do on the web and I will sign up the MINUTE you start.

    1. Steph, interestingly enough, I sold a textbook on Amazon in exchange for an Amazon gift card and that gave me the funds to send out the first few journals. I then earned another gift card through My Points and that paid for more journals! Pretty fabulous! I am interested to see how additional funds will manifest to share more journals 😉

  4. My mother is 85 and I gave her a “grandmother’s journal” several years ago for her to record her memories in, but she never would take the time to write in it. Several months ago she ran across it and called to tell me she found it and has begun writing her stories in it for us. Her memories of her childhood are remarkably clear down to buttons that were on her dresses and even when she was probably 3 years old and was told about the birth of a younger brother that had occurred earlier in the day a room away. I am so glad I bought that for her and that she has finally decided to make a record of her life for me and my three brothers.

    1. Wow! I think it is so amazing that she has such vivid memories. How wonderful that she will be recording her life for you and your brothers!

Leave a Reply

