Sara Joyce Bryant Houghton Mullis was Mema to Me

Mom called to say
you were dying
and I drove through
the night to see you
to say one last time

good bye

When I arrived at the hospital
you were lying in bed
unrecognizable, your skin
like gauze dripping from your
brittle bones, I could only feign
a smile, not a single word escaping
my lips

It was afternoon
several years later
when mom called
crying
to say that you had
died

she told you it was okay
to go, releasing you
from the broken shell
you inhabited

I thought there would be time
to say goodbye, like I thought
there would be time to put on
a seat belt in the instant before
a car wreck.

But, I was wrong
both times.

Day 19 of the 2010 April PAD Challenge.

9 thoughts on “Sara Joyce Bryant Houghton Mullis was Mema to Me

  1. Very sad while deep and thoughtful. The line”It was several years later” tells me of long suffering. It is better I think to go quickly. The quality of life is so much more important than the quantity, yet we all hang on.

    Vi

Leave a Reply

