From Her Crimson Lips

She insisted persistently that I listen, her words swirling, whirling

You

but I covered my ears, fears swelling from what she was telling

Have

the words skipping, slipping through my fingers to linger

Three

arching and sparking inside my brain causing too much pain

Months

so I hummed and drummed trying to drown their sound

To

but I cowed and allowed her last word to spiral for awhile

Live

inside until it died.

*Day 5 of the 2010 April PAD Challenge. Today’s theme was “Too Much Information (TMI).”

13 thoughts on “From Her Crimson Lips

  1. Just saw your link on sage’s web.

    I love everything you’ve written. I’m so glad I’ve found you.
    What a treat!
    Chloe.

    1. Hi Chloe! I am glad you found me through Sage’s site! I am also very happy that you like what I have written. Thanks so much for stopping by, reading, and leaving a comment 🙂

    1. Thank you, Sage. It feels good to be writing poetry again. I haven’t written any in almost a year. I have developed a little routine for this month where I sit outide on the porch and write as soon as my son is asleep and work my way throught whatever prompt is on Poetic Asides for the day. I look at the prompt in the morning and let it work its way through my brain during the day so it is ready for action in the evening 🙂 Thanks so much for taking a look!

Leave a Reply

