The Mysterious Disappearance Of A Sock

I noticed them both
as I tossed them in.

A perfect pink pair.

I watched them dance
in an ocean of suds
one trying to separate
from the other.

When all had gone quiet
still clung to each other
I moved them into
the warm, lazy whirl.

It was the buzz that woke me
from a late afternoon nap.
In a panic over wrinkles,
I hurried to fold

the clothes. Now all removed
I found the lone sock grieving,
a little paler it seemed,
from the loss of its twin.

*Day Six PAD Challenge.

Leave a Reply

