The Bird

It started with a bird
in our house,
ransacking,
over and over again,
till I locked her out
permanently.

Weeks later she came,
again,
slamming into our windshield
feathers raining tiny
messages I could not hear.

Months later,
still persistent, she flew
through the car window
dying at your
feet
feathers flying birdless
blocking my view.

When I finally left you
she came to me
once more, reborn,
a bright white dove.

An angel that earned her wings.

*Fourth submission for PAD Challenge.

Leave a Reply

