The Problem with Finding The Time to Write

4:30 a.m.
“Mommy, is it time to get up?”
The only acceptable answer,

yes.

Stumble down the stairs.
Breakfast.
Coffee.
Couch.

Pick up a pen to write,
“Mommy, I want you to love me.”
The only acceptable answer,

yes.

Put him on the bus.
Work.
Home.
Take him off the bus.

Dinner.

Pick up a pen to write,
“Mommy, I want to sit in your lap.”
The only acceptable answer,

yes.

Put him to bed.
Class assignments.
Nearly midnight.

I tell myself,
“You need to go to bed.”
The only acceptable answer,

yes.

Maybe tomorrow
my pen will make contact
with something other than

my hand.

*The third poem for the “Poem A Day” Challenge.

One thought on “The Problem with Finding The Time to Write

Leave a Reply

