Driving A Car

I drive a car with so much fear
feeling that the end is near.

I get behind the driver’s seat
hearing my heart’s rapid beat.

My stomach feels like it’s been hit
I tell myself I’ve got to quit.

I pick myself up and start the car
knowing I haven’t got very far.

I put in gear this death machine
making sure all my senses are keen.

Fear grips me as I start to drive
and I thank God I’m still alive.

A little farther I must go.
A little farther down this road.

Written in 1996

Leave a Reply

