Daddy

At one time I called you “daddy” and held on to you tight
I would wake up wanting you when I was scared at night

What a terrible thing it was that I didn’t know
When I grew older I’d face a terrible blow

As an innocent child I thought my life was the norm
But that was just the calm before the devastating storm

Many years would go by before the realization set in
That the things that had happened should never have been

No one told me that my “daddy” could hurt me so much
Or that so much pain could come from someone’s touch

Now the beatings have become a thing of the past
But losing the love of my “daddy” will forever last

Now I’ve married my “daddy” all over again
And another sad chapter of my life will begin.

Written in 1996

Leave a Reply

